top of page
  • Writer's picturesophietodd.

Fashion Scout - From Behind the Curtain

"Fashion Scout, the international showcase for fashion pioneers, is the UK's largest independent showcase for emerging and established design talent during London Fashion Week. Fashion Scout is renowned for championing, nurturing and showcasing creative design talent from around the globe."

Tolu Coker Merit Award Winner AW19

Founded and run by creative Martyn Roberts, Fashion Scout is more than this. To me, it's a cooperation that also allows new young creatives to develop and flourish within a professional industry event. I started volunteering for Fashion Scout a few years ago simply as front of house on the events team. After a season of this I realised all the opportunities Fashion Scout offers for young people backstage, on the digital team, dressing, the list is endless. So the following season I looked into the event a lot more, applied for a position on the digital team, nothing huge but a step up. Fortunately the position hadn't been filled and I was offered the job. An hour in and I realised it's not just the job description that I signed up for. As the digital assistant/sub editor I was in and out of the offices, shooting the catwalks alongside a large gaggle of seriously good photographers, occasionally helping out with videography, capturing street style, I even did a spot of dressing. The tasks were endless and hours were long but after my first day for Fashion Scout was done, I was hooked!

Show after show, incredible pieces were being displayed and amongst the organised chaos of behind the curtains, I was really starting to fit in. People would rely on me and I'd get the job done. I'm now several seasons in and still loving every opportunity I get. It's a crazy fast paced week but each time is better, more hectic with more shows than the last and I love it.

Martyn has created a platform for not only designers but the future of the industry to have their early experiences of being the other side of the catwalk.


St.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page