top of page
  • Writer's picturesophietodd.

I Wanna Go Out Dancing!

Well it's been a while since we've all been out on a dance floor and it's made me think about how much a good boogie can have an effect on our wellbeing.

Having been put into the first lockdown half way through my first year of university, the change couldn't be more polar opposites, from going out every night one day, to zoom cocktails in joggers and no bra the next. Nine months later and we're four days into the UK's third lockdown and frankly we're all struggling.


I loved going out on a big night out. I loved the process of getting ready, choosing an outfit, playing my 'getting ready' playlist dancing in my underwear whilst doing my makeup, singing girl power songs to get me pumped and ready for a night of nonstop laughs and jumping round like no ones watching. I loved putting on cheesy throwback tunes for 'pres', doing shots and dancing in our kitchen gradually caring less and less about looking good and more about having fun, letting loose and feeling free. Dancing let me do that.

The feeling of bouncing up and down with a couple of hundred others in time to a song we're all yelling at the top of our lungs, lights flashing, bodies sweaty from being crammed on the compact dance floor and feeling pure happiness, freedom, joy and making memories we would laugh about in the morning is something you can't recreate.

Now that we can't go out, we can't meet others, we can't be in that environment of a crowded dance floor whether that's at a wedding, party, club or bar; the empty dance floors are a sad sight.

I believe dancing has the power to infinitely lift our mood. No matter what's going on in your life, when that one song comes on that you simply can't not dance to, allowing yourself to have a boogie can often be the fix to making you feel like whatever it is in your head, will be ok. Dancing, for me is a way to escape, to feel like my troubles are lighter and I'm free. Bouncing on a dance floor makes me feel weightless, like I'm floating on this bubble of positivity and joy.

We've all had our own struggles throughout lockdown 1, 2 and now 3, so maybe this time allow yourself a half hour a week to shut the door, put your headphones in/volume up and crack out your most limb flailing moves to a favourite playlist and see if it puts a smile on your face. I bet it will... you're welcome :)


St.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page