top of page
  • Writer's picturesophietodd.

My foot in the door...

Updated: Jan 26, 2020

I've known for a long time that the way my brain works is very heavily right sided thinking. This, for may years has been a blessing and a curse. However, on the positive side it's meant I've known since a pretty young age that I want to go into a creative industry. Having been lucky enough to do 3 individual art GCSE and A Levels, I've always been on the hunt for little ways I can dip my toe into the industry, one of which being assisting photographer Owen Vincent.

I got in contact with Owen for the first time back in 2017, having just started my A levels and was beginning to think about university options. I'd followed his account on instagram for a few years prior to this and hugely admired his style of work; reaching out on this platform I introduced myself and we spoke a bit about photography and the possibility of assisting on one of his shoots. After a while Owen messaged me, asking if I was free to assist him with an exciting magazine shoot coming up that he thought I might benefit from attending. This opportunity turned into my first assisting role for an editorial shoot.

The models were Drag Syndrome, a group of drag king and queens who perform globally who all have down syndrome. The shoot took place in a studio in Wimbledon for Gay Times magazine. As I met Owen and entered the shoot I was pretty nervous, but with some red lipstick and a smile I managed to introduce myself to the editors, writers, makeup artists, hair stylists, Drag Syndrome and their team and get on with the shoot. A couple of hours and umpteen outfits later the shoot was done and we were taking our team photo, discussing favourites and joking around together dancing to music as each member of the group had their interview. What I found really eye opening about this shoot was just how collaborative the entire shoot process was, with everyone inputting their ideas and thoughts as to the poses and angles, creating a huge variety of images and a really enjoyable experience.


The next shoot I did with Owen was slightly different, taking place in Owen's flat, the shoot was for Civilian magazine and the model was international singer and songwriter James Morrison. A completely different vibe from the last, this shoot was really chilled and informal meaning the shots with James felt extremely relaxed and natural. With the role of videographer it was my job to capture the behind the scenes footage of the shoot and a little bit of what James was like, and his character. What struck me on the way home from this one was just how important it is, on a shoot as a team, to be comfortable in the environment you're shooting. Whether that's in a professional studio or a home studio, as a team the images will be most successful if everyone is confident and comfortable working in the right surroundings. This could change every time, but the final images turned out to be some taken right at the end of the shoot, with James and the team at their most relaxed with each other and the space we were in.

I also learnt a key tip all assistants should know on this shoot. It is to have an emergancy pack at all times. This pack should include tape, both doublesided and duct tape, a needle and thread, safety pins, a hair brush and hair tie. At some point there will always be a need for these items and if you can be the one to provide it on a shoot, it definitely displays your awareness and professionalism towards the outcome.



Both teams I've worked in have been hugely inspiring and such lovely people to work with. Everyone from model to stylist, editor to makeup assistant has their role and by pulling together, not being afraid to offer opinions now and then and all teaming up to get the best possible outcome, the results are and will be so rewarding. I look forward to hopefully working on many more in the future.


St.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page