top of page
  • Writer's picturesophietodd.

The Sweaty Betty Diva

Throughout the ideas and concepts stages of my project I wanted to include not only what my research had concluded but also in how I feel as a young woman in 2020. Post Me Too, and in a time of feminism and the fight for equality I'm interested in what makes me and other women feel empowered.


To begin the process I separately analysed both my trend story and brand for overlapping themes and attitudes; standing out of the crowd, being ture to yourself and confident in who you are, being your best self were just some of the links connecting the two.


I then began to think of ways in which brands, cooperations, charities and individuals successfuly do these things and have these qualities. This led to inspiring me to come up with several concepts of potential methods of demonstrating this idea of being confident and living your best life loud and proud.

To come up with my ideas statement I then took a step back, looking and how self confidence is achieved and what you can do to become what I described as a diva. Someone who has flaws but loves them, someone who is true to themselves and wants others to see them and someone who thrives at what they set their mind to. It struck me that what it means to be happy and feel empowered is to have a purpose. This purpose and state of confidence and empoweredness comes from the act of doing. Looking back into my research in an interview with a Sweaty Betty manager, as well as several answers from my instagram poll, I remembered that women found that being part of a group, seeing others succeed around them also inspires them to feel empowered as if they can have an impact and make a difference. This in turn fills them with confidence and self belief.


My final ideas statement reads as follows:

Igniting confidence to be a positive force; building a sisterhood of divas motivated for change.

Next came the concept stage in which I came up with 3 individual concepts and moodboards representing how my idea could be presented in digital outcomes.

The Body.Posi.Cozi. is a concept for a body positivity campaign promoting Sweaty Betty swimwear. Using social media and other digital platforms to inspire the consumer to feel good about themselves and their body's creating a sisterhood of likeminded empowered divas.


Similarly to Sweaty Betty's Women Rule blog, this campaign would involved members of there consumer following to take part in their campaign and tell their story as well as wearing their products designed to fit and compliment the female form. Perfect for them changing room mirror selfies!

SBDva is short for the Sweaty Betty Diva and app that allows you to connect, interact and inspire others to be better versions of themselves. This would be done by trying new things, being more sociable, more active and therefore more confident. It would include everything from playlists to daily recipes, designing customised leggings to arranging your next event. SBDva provides a platform for you to meet and be grouped with likeminded people in 'sisterhood's' where you can come together to feel empowered.

Finally, DoNation, a multimedia digital organisation and fundraising scheme that encourages you to keep up you skills, learn something new on a regular basis, meet new people, live a healthy and active lifestyle and to empower others to do the same.


Out of all 3 concepts I've chosen DoNation to continue with into my outcome stage, developing this further and producing mock up visuals of how the platform could be achieved.


St.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page